Leaburg Hatchery Visitors' Guide

Leaburg Hatchery was built in 1953 to mitigate for lost fishing opportunity because of the many dams on Willamette Basin rivers. These dams include Cougar, Blue River, Carmen-Smith, Lookout, Dexter, and others. The hatchery rears rainbow trout and summer steelhead and has a staff of four employees. Visiting hours are dawn to dusk, seven days a week. Come visit our show pond and see huge white sturgeon and rainbow trout.

There’s a viewing platform built by the McLaren School for Boys in 1993 to allow visitors to get a close up look at spring Chinook salmon spawning in the creek below.

Leaburg Hatchery

Best time to visit: all year

Visiting hours: dawn to dusk; 7 days a week

Fish raised: rainbow trout and summer steelhead

What to see and do: Earthen show ponds offer year-round viewing of huge sturgeon and rainbow trout. Excellent access to fishing exists on the McKenzie River below the hatchery. Visitors can view osprey during the spring and summer, and watch spawning of spring Chinook in the fall.

  • Wildlife: birds of prey, fish, wading birds, waterfowl
  • Facilities: camp host, fishing, ADA accessible, picnic area, restrooms, trails
  • Nearby: The Eugene Water and Electric Board’s Lloyd Knox Park provides picnicking, swimming, fishing, and boat access to the McKenzie River.
  • 2004 Leaburg Hatchery photos

Directions: Leaburg Hatchery is located along the McKenzie River (Willamette Basin) 4 miles east of Leaburg, Oregon, on Highway 126 at River Mile 38.8 on the McKenzie River.

Address and Phone:
Leaburg Hatchery
90700 Fish Hatchery Road
Leaburg, OR 97489
(541) 896-3294
Leaburg.Hatchery@state.or.us