Elk in the Santiam Unit

Santiam Unit 16

Find maps, boundary descriptions and the percent public land for the Santiam Unit.

Hunts are for the 2021 season unless otherwise noted

Unit description

Public lands: 63 percent. Beginning at Lebanon; east and north on Lebanon- Lacomb Rd to Richardson Gap Rd; north on Richardson Gap Rd to State Hwy 226;northeast on Hwy 226 to State Hwy 22; west on Hwy 22 to Cascade Hwy; north on Cascade Hwy to State Hwy 213 at Silverton; northeast on Hwy 213 to State Hwy 211; northeast on Hwy 211 to Sandy; north on Teneyck Rd to Sandy Rvr; northwest down Sandy Rvr to state line in Columbia Rvr; northeast on state line to Multnomah-Hood Rvr Co line; southeast on Multnomah-Hood Rvr Co line to Lolo Pass; southeast on Pacific Crest Trail to Barlow Pass; west on Hwy 35 to Hwy 26; southeast on Hwy 26 to Hwy 216; west and south on west boundary of Warm Springs Indian Reservation (McQuinn Strip line) to summit of Mt Jefferson; south on Pacific Crest Trail to US Hwy 20; west on US Hwy 20 to Lebanon, point of beginning. (The McQuinn Strip portion of White Rvr Unit and Warm Springs Indian Reservation was closed to public hunting Sep. 21, 1992 until further notice). (Maps: Mt Hood NF, Willamette NF, Salem BLM).

Santiam Unit Map (pdf)

Unit wide hunts

  • Cascades (200M)

Sub-unit hunts

  • W High Cascade (119A) – North N Cascades (pdf) Central N Cascades (pdf) South N Cascades
  • NW Cascade Muzzleloader (200M1)
  • NW Santiam (216F)
  • SW Santiam (216B) - West (pdf) East (pdf)
  • Mollala (216C)
  • Green Mt (216E) [2019 Season]
  • NW Santiam (216D) - North (pdf) South (pdf)
  • Santiam Unit Youth (216T)
  • Santiam Unit Bow Traditional Bow (216R1)
  • Santiam Unit Late Bow (216R2)
  • NW Santiam (616A1) - view map - North (pdf) view map - South (pdf)
  • NW Santiam (616T2) - view map - North (pdf) view map - South (pdf)
  • SW Santiam (616A2)
  • SW Santiam (616T1)


North Santiam Unit - Clackamas office 941-673-6000
South Santiam Unit - Springfield office 541-726-3515

Hunt series key:

100 series – buck deer
200 series – elk
400 series – pronghorn
500 series – bighorn sheep
600 series – antlerless deer
700 series – spring black bear
900 series – Rocky Mountain goat

Please review the Big Game Regulations for sub-unit descriptions.

NOTE: This information is for reference use only, and is not intended to replace the information found in the current Big Game Regulations. Please consult the Big Game Regulations before purchasing tags or planning your hunting excursions.