Willow Creek Wildlife Area Visitors' Guide

The Columbia Basin Wildlife Areas are a composition of four Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (department) managed wildlife areas located along the Columbia River, in the Columbia Basin. The four wildlife areas (Power City, Irrigon, Coyote Springs and Willow Creek) are within the Columbia Plateau ecoregion. Management agreements for these areas were initially established between 1971 and 1977 between the department and Federal agencies which own the lands.

The Columbia Basin Wildlife Areas, which total approximately 1,885 acres, provide an important landbase for the conservation and recreation of fish and wildlife within a highly privatized and altered landscape and play an important role for the fall and spring migrations of waterfowl in addition to resident upland game bird production.

A parking permit is required to park at this wildlife area. Find our how to buy a parking permit

Best time to visit: Waterfowl, shorebirds and songbirds can be observed most of the year.

Visiting hours: Entry Prohibited between 10 pm and 4 am, except in designated parking area. Overnight camping is prohibited.

Columbia Basin Wildlife Areas Map

What to see and do: White pelicans and black capped night herons are commonly observed. Access is by foot travel from the parking lot.

  • Wildlife: red-tailed hawk, American kestrel, spotted sandpiper, Wilson's snipe, savannah sparrow, white crowned sparrow, California quail, mallards, widgeon, great blue heron, great egret; for extensive list see Appendix C in the Columbia Basin Wildlife Areas Management Plan.
  • Facilities: fishing, huntingBoat ramp
  • Nearby: The Columbia River offers a variety of scenic views and activities.

Directions: Take exit 151 off I-84 and turn south on Three-mile Canyon Road. After ½ mile, turn right at the wildlife area sign onto a narrow gravel road. Follow yellow signs with black arrows to the parking lot.

Address and Phone:
Willow Creek Wildlife Area
73471 Mytinger Lane
Pendleton, OR 97801
(541) 276-2344

Additional resources: