Hunter education is required for all hunters 18 and under, and is required for adult hunters in many popular, nearby states. Students may learn in a traditional class setting, work through a workbook at their own pace, or take the class online.
Hunter education is required for any hunter under age 18 in Oregon (unless they are hunting on land owned by their parents or legal guardian or are participating in the Mentored Youth Hunter Program).
It’s recommended for adults new to hunting, too, or as a refresher for veteran hunters. The class gives a thorough introduction to the skills hunters need, covering topics like: firearms safety, hunter ethics, wildlife identification, hunt preparation and techniques, and outdoor survival.
The class takes 14-16 hours and requires a $10 application fee. All youth students are required to participate in a live-fire exercise (students who take the workbook or online option do this by registering & participating in a field day).
*To sign up for the required field day, see License Sales Classes page / Hunter Ed Field Day tab.
Many parents choose to go through the course with their child, which is encouraged. Parents who participate and pass the test will receive their certificate as well. Even parents who choose not to take the tests usually find the course both informative and enjoyable.
There is no minimum age to attend a course, but children under age 11 often have a difficult time with the material. Younger students may also lack the upper body strength necessary to handle a firearm safely and control the muzzle when performing loading and unloading drills.
Students taking the online course and passing the online test receive an official Oregon Field Day Qualifier Certificate, a prerequisite for attending an independent-study field day. Upon successfully meeting all hunting safety course requirements, the student will receive an official Certificate of Completion.
Please note that youth may apply for a controlled hunt before they complete hunter education, but must pass hunter education before actually hunting on their own tag or validation.
ODFW does not refund class fees. However, we do have a credit system:
Please make every effort to attend the class that you have signed up for.
The Oregon Outdoor Skills Program is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments 1972, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and offers all persons the opportunity to participate in programs and activities regardless of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. No individual will be turned away from or otherwise be denied access to or benefit from, any program or activity on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Complaints of discrimination should be sent to: Chief, Public Civil Rights Division, Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street NW, Washington, DC 20240.
Header photo by Jason Bader
Mentored Youth Hunter Program allows youth 9 through 15 years of age to hunt without first passing an approved hunter education...
The 4 options below are designed for self-motivated students with good reading and comprehension skills - just choose one. All...